Honors and Awards



International Awardees

  • Dr. Herbert Gaisano, UPCM Class 1981
    2016 Order of Ontario, Canadian Province’s highest official honor

    National Awardees

    • Ugnayan ng Pahinungod Manila
    1st Bayani ng Kalusugan Award (conferred by the Dept of Health)

    Dr. Jose Rizal Awardees conferred by the Philippine Medical Association

    • Dr. Zorayda Leopando (Academe)
    • Dr. Reuben F. Salvador (Community Leadership)
    • Dr. Claver R. Ramos (Clinical Practice)
    • Dr. Julius A. Lecciones (Government Service)
    • Dr. Jonas Francisco Y. Santiago (Research)

    UP Alumni Association Awardees

    Lifetime Distinguished Achievement Awardees

    • Dr. Cornelio G. Banaag, Jr., AB ’58, MD ’63;
    • Dr. Mario S. de Villa, MD ’56;
    • Dr. Lourdes Ladrido-Ignacio, MD’ 63;
    • Dr. Zorayda E. Leopando, BS ’70; MD ’75

    • Dr. John Mark S. Velasco, BS ’99 cl; MD ’04; MPH ’10
    Distinguished Alumni Award in Medical Science Research

    • Prof. Roderick L. Salenga, BS Phar ’04; MPH ’07
    Distinguished Alumni Award in Public Health

    • Prof. Nina Consorcia Castillo-Carandang, AB ’84

    • Dr. Leo D.P. Cubillan, BS’86 mcl; MD’91
    Distinguished Alumni Award in Public Health Promotion

    • Dr. Ferdiliza Dandah S. Garcia, BSSpPath ’98
    Distinguished Alumni Award in Community Promotion

    • Dr. Basil H. Jajurie, MD ’58
    Distinguished Alumni Award in Community Empowerment

    • Comm. Elsie Brandes-de Veyra, GN’55
    Distinguished Alumni Award in Environmental Conservation and Sustainable Development.

    • Limson Family

    • Rosell Family
    Multi-generational UP Alumni Awardees

  • 2015 AWARDEES

      International Awardees

      • Dr. Melvin Sanicas
      College of Medicine/College of Arts and Sciences alumnus
      Elected Fellow, Royal Society for Public Health (longest-established public health
      organization in the UK)

      • Jore-Anne Rico (CAS Alumna)
      1st Place Asian Bioethics Review Essay Prize 2014

      UP Manila Chorale

      • 1ST PLACE, Polyphony category,
      2015 International Habaneras and Polyphony Choir Competition” (Aug. 2015)
      • 2ND PLACE - Mixed Choirs, Male or Female Choirs
      Folk Music, up to 40 voices category
      33rd Festival Internacional de Musica de Cantonigros" (July 2015)
      • 3RD PLACE - Mixed Choirs up to 40 voices category
      33rd Festival Internacional de Musica de Cantonigros" (July 2015)

      National Awardees

      • Prof. Roderick L. Salenga
      2015 Ten Outstanding Young Men (TOYM)
      Public Health Pharmacy

      • Ugnayan ng Pahinungod-Manila
      National Outstanding Volunteer Award (Organization, Non-Profit Category)
      Phil. National Volunteer Coordinating Service Agency

      • Dr. Abundio A. Balgos
      PCP “Dr. Gonzalo F. Austria Memorial: Most Distinguished Physician Award 2014-

      • UP Manila Chorale
      “Ani ng Dangal” 2016 awardee, Music Category

      • Dr. Vicente Y. Belizario, Jr.
      2014 Outstanding Health Research Award from the NAST and the Department of
      Science and Technology-Philippine Council for Health Research and Development

      UP System Awardees

      • Dr. Iris Thiele Isip-Tan
      1st Gawad Pangulo: Competition for Progressive Teaching and Learning

      UP International Publication Awards

      • Marilen P. Balolong (CAS)
      • May Kristine O. Bernardo and Voltaire G. Organo (CAS)
      • Nina Abigail B. Clavio and Junie Billiones (CAS)
      • Else G. Dapat (Bio, CAS)

      UP Scientific Productivity Awards

      • Dr. Leonila F. Dans (CM)
      UP Scientist III

      • Dr. Antonio L. Dans (CM)
      UP Scientist III

      • Dr. Carmencita Padilla (CM)
      UP Scientist III

      • Dr. Vicente Belizario, Jr.
      UP Scientist III

      • Dr. Maria Carmela Lapitan
      UP Scientist III

      • Dr. Jose Florencio F. Lapeña Jr
      UP Scientist III

      • Dr. Charlotte M. Chiong (CM)
      UP Scientist II

      • Prof. Arnold V. Hallare (CAS) – II
      UP Scientist II

      • Prof. Junie B. Billiones (CAS)
      UP Scientist I

      • Prof. Rosario R. Rubite (CAS)
      UP Scientist I

      UP Alumni Association Awardees

      • Dr. Ernesto O. Domingo
      UPAA Distinguished Alumni

      UPAA Lifetime Achievement Awardees

      • Dr. Benjamin Adapon
      • Dr. Florante Gonzaga
      • Dr. Reynaldo Joson

      UPAA Outstanding Achievement Awardees in Various Fields

      • Dr. Kenneth Hartigan-Go (Government Service)
      • Dr. Antonio Miguel Dans (Medical Research)
      • Dr. Eduardo Banzon (Health Policy Development)
      • Dr. Charlotte Chiong (Health Administration)
      • Dr. Marcelito Custodio (Public Health Promotion)
      • Dr. Cora Anonuevo (Public Health Promotion)

      • Dr. Irma Makalinao
      Distinguished Service Award

      • UP Pharmacy Alumni Association
      Distinguished Service Award for an Alumni Chapter

      • Genuino Family
      Multi-generation Family Award

      UP Manila Awardees Gawad Chancellor Awardees

      • Dr. Anthony GH Cordero
      Outstanding Teacher

      • Glenn Sia Su
      Outstanding Researcher

      • Edelina Dela Paz
      Outstanding Faculty in Extension Service

      • Esphie Grace Fodra
      Outstanding Research, Extension and Professional Staff

      • Miladilla Santiago, Central Adm
      Outstanding Adm. Employee (Level 2)

      • Arvy John Crescini, Central Adm
      Outstanding Adm. Employee (Level 1)

      • John Aaron Isidro, CAMP
      Outstanding Student

      • Lenita Reyes-Otadoy
      Outstanding Athlete

      • Deseree Mangulabnan
      Outstanding Artist

      • Mu Sigma Phi Fraternity, CM
      Outstanding Student Organization

      UP Los Banos

      • Dr. Carmencita D. Padilla
      Gumamela Hybrid named in her honor
      “Hibiscus Rosa sinensis Carmencita Padilla
      UP Los Baños

    2014 AWARDEES

      National Awardees

      • Atlas of Philippine Dermatology
      Outstanding Book Award given by the National Academy of Science and Technology (NAST)

      • Dr. Paulo Antonio Silva
      NAST’s Outstanding Young Scientist

      • Philippine General Hospital
      2nd Runner up, Hospital Best Practices on Infection Control
      Best in Hand Hygiene
      Best in the Management of Hospital Infection
      (Awards given by the Philippine Hospital Association and Philippine Hospital Infection Control Society)

      • Paula Apolonio, Nadinne Capistrano, Rose Enriquez, Maruss Sinsaym,
      and Raymond Ruedas (OrCom Students)
      2014 Philippine Student Quill Awards

      • UP Manila Indayog Dance Varsity (Girls)
      Champion—College Division
      Crissa Campus Dance Synergy 2014

      • UP Manila Indayog Dance Varsity (Boys)
      9th Place, Ego Jeans Supreme Wars I, 2014